Hopelessness

It started as a joke; it stopped being funny a long, long time ago.  I would be intrigued about the future of this country if I weren’t so terrified of the fact that there’s a sinister undercurrent here, and it’s not only thriving, but succeeding.  I have little reason to fear, yet I’m terrified.  I’m afraid for my fellow Americans who feel threatened, who feel that they are no longer welcome in their home.  I have to believe most people are good, that we’re better than this, but I’m afraid only time will tell.  At the moment, it’s taking my entire will to avoid falling toward despair.

 

1 thought on “Hopelessness”

Leave a Reply

