Japan in Photographs

In mid-May, I spent a week on vacation in Japan.  It was a much needed holiday, both to get away from work, and to see my exiled girlfriend for the first time in months.  We rode around the country on trains, spending a few days in Kyoto, around Mt. Fuji, and in Tokyo.  It was a lovely little trip — the sights were wonderful, the experiences memorable to say the least, and I came home with a decent collection of photons to sift through.  There was no rest to be had, shifting my body clock by eight hours both ways and filling each day to the brim with adventure (except for one much needed “day off”).  I came home exhausted, but happy.  In just over 17 months, I’d gone from having been to zero continents outside of North America to setting foot on five.  I’ll likely be heading back to Asia next, however I’ve got my eye on Australia/New Zealand at some point in the not-to-distant future.  Fingers crossed!

These are my 129 favorite photos from Japan.  I know, that’s a crazy amount to put in a blog gallery, however there were over 3000 to choose from.  Unfortunately (or maybe not), it rained for nearly three days straight at the start of the trip, so most of my photos from Kyoto are dark and stormy.  That did create a pretty surreal effect for many of them though, so I’m happy regardless.  Like I said, it was a great trip.  Enjoy!

Also here’s a bonus video from the Shinkansen trip to Kyoto!

Leave a Reply

