Stop, Grammar Time.

I recently had the opportunity to give a brief talk to a professional organization at work about grammar in our speech.  The subject: an error that plagues conversation around the office, on TV, across the internet, every single day without notice.  You hear this all the time:

“Me and John went to the store”
“Me and him are having a party”

Obviously, these are wrong.  We’re taught rigorously from a young age that “me and ___” to start a sentence is incorrect, and it should be “John and I went to the store”, “He and I are having a party” etc.

However, we often fall victim to a hypercorrection of sorts, where “John and I” is used always including in places where it is wrong.

For example:

“Can you send this drawing to John and I?”
“Would you like to go to dinner with he and I”

The ears of the grammatically trenchant among us just twitched.  Both of these are wrong because “John (or he) and I” in these cases are the objects of the sentence, not the subjects.

In English, “I, he, she, we, they” are subjective case pronouns, whereas “me, him, her, us, them” are objective case pronouns.  “Can you send this drawing to John and me” “Would you like to have dinner with him and me” etc.

Whenever something is being done to, with or for someone, it is the object.

If you still find a situation where you might be unsure of which form to use, all you simply need to do is remove the other person from the sentence:

“I … went to the store”
“I … am having a party”
“Can you send this drawing to … me”
“Would you like to go to dinner with … me”

Make sense?  Good.

Rant over!

*drops mic*

3 thoughts on “Stop, Grammar Time.”

Leave a Reply

