Adventures Through Cascadia: Part 4, The Aftermath

Continued from Part 3: Reflections

I was awakened suddenly on Thursday August 1st, by sprinklers blasting my car window before sunrise. Annoyed, I decided to remain awake, shut my windows, and head on down the road. The boring drive down I-5 went faster than I thought it might, but I was also just absolutely exhausted and not creating stable short-term memories. I made it home at 8:30am, just in time to live a full day of catching up on emails, Twitter, household chores, shopping, laundry, and hygiene, after nearly nine full days on the road.

route
That’s about right.

As a whole, the trip wasn’t bad. It wasn’t great, but it wasn’t bad. I had underestimated just how hard it would be to sleep in a car for eight nights out of nine and certainly overlooked just how that much walking would wear on my body. I could barely move when I got home and I needed a couple days to recover physically. I will never take a soft bed or a nice hot shower for granted ever again.

Obviously my camera made it home safely. I bought it in June of 2011 and the filenames rolled over from IMG_9999 to IMG_0000 just this past July, meaning it had taken 10,001 photos in its lifetime, a bit over 25 months. In the nine days I was in Cascadia, I took 4,435 photos. In my travels, fewer places have been so photogenic as the Pacific Northwest. It’s absolutely gorgeous up there. I was lucky to have visited on perfect weather days in the summer, but I’m almost tempted to return in the winter just see what it’s like.

Wait, what am I talking about? There’s no way in hell I’m doing this kind of trip again. It was a ton of fun, but it wore me out far too much. I suffered for the sake of my photographs and nostalgia and before I put the rose-colored glasses on I have to remind myself of the physical and mental anguish I subjected myself to day after day. Like I said, it took its toll. I may have put 2400 miles on my car, but I just might have taken a few weeks off of my life.

I’m really glad I did this. In due time I’ll look back on the trip fondly. I’ve already embedded memories onto some of my favorite music. It was the right time, the perfect opportunity, and I kind of hope that the situation that led me to it never comes around again. If I have that much free time in the not-so-distant future, I will likely be doing something wrong with my life.

Now, it’s time to get back to work, to the adventure that is my every day life. To the future, the unwritten story, the undiscovered country, the other silly clichĂ©. I have things I need to get done, for real, yo.

doug flags

The End!

Leave a Reply

