Offseason, Part Trois: Wait, WHAAAAAAAAT?

caddyshack

The lockout is over!  I repeat, the motherf***ing 113 day long NHL lockout is OVER!  Done.  They’re actually allowed to drop the puck and play NHL hockey now for the first time since June 11th, 2012.  I’m writing this myself to make sure I’m not dreaming since, upon reading reverse chronologically sorted tweets that seemed to confirm the CBA agreement, I sprang half-awake out of bed (literally, sprang) and ran (literally, ran) to my computer to read the whole story.  Oh man, what a morning.  Here in California it’s raining and I probably won’t get to play soccer today, but damn, I don’t care.  HOCKEY IS BACK.

I’m not one of those people who swore to never come back.  I barely had it in myself to boycott anything.  I wanted to be mad at everyone involved for being greedy and playing far too much insidious politics… but now that it’s all said and done, I’m right back on board.  Let’s see them go more than seven years without a work stoppage this time! (Challenge accepted, NHL & NHLPA?)

So back to the games: this is where things get crazy.  Once they drop the puck, it’s going to be a wild four months until the playoffs where basically anything can happen.  48/50 games?  That’s just over half a regular season in less than half of the time.  Maple Leafs start strong in the fall and fade in February?  Perhaps not this year.  LA Kings get hot two months into the season, sneak in the eighth seed and win everything?  Doubtful.  It’s about to get exciting up in here and I can’t wait.  It’s going to be awesome.

Order is restored to the universe.  Karma is balanced (I sure hope).  I can go back to doing nothing all night but watching the Sabres, soaking in Rick Jeanneret’s sweet sweet voice, and seeing hopefully all of my teams vie for the playoffs right off the bat.  (In all seriousness though, I will still do other things 😉 )

Game on, bitches!

Leave a Reply

