Old News: 12/12/12 Edition

Last Wednesday around noon (so very close to 12:12 on 12/12/12), I got the email from the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying that I’d been waiting just over six weeks for: my Fundamentals of Engineering Exam results.  Three months of preparation, one day of excruciating stress (I noted to myself that my drive over to San Mateo the night before the exam was the most stressed I had ever been in my entire life) and an undetermined period of waiting were finally culminating here, just a mouse-click away.

ncees

*click*

Pass Hell yes.  I was at work when I read the news so I didn’t jump or shout, but I was exploding on the inside.  I told a few of my coworkers, with whom I had coincidentally had a discussion about the exam mere hours before, close family and friends, and posted the obligatory Facebook status for all to see.  I was so excited I couldn’t sit still… or talk about anything else (sorry, coworkers).

I wasn’t quite there yet though; I still had to apply for the Engineer-in-Training certificate now that I had met all of the qualifications. I waited a few days and sent my application and $50 (gee, you want more of my money?) after work last Friday… so that means I should get my certificate in about 4 – 6 weeks… and then…?  I’m not sure what to do now really, other than update my résumé when the time comes…

Regardless of the benefits of being an Engineer-in-Training, I could not feel more accomplished.  Given the terribly shitty first three weeks of July I had, it’s a wonder I found it in myself to begin conquering the gargantuan mass of engineering knowledge I had forgotten/never learned, especially after having been out of school for over a year.  I don’t really like to gloat, but it really is incredible how much engineering knowledge you need to have a grasp on for the exam.  In retrospect it didn’t seem that hard, but I know it’s because of my ceaseless preparation, drive to kick the exam’s ass and, perhaps most importantly, not fail myself.  I’m really glad I passed; sitting in an uncomfortable chair for eight mind-numbing hours inside a giant room with 800 other prospective engineers a 90-minute drive from home is not something I’d like to repeat ever again.

1 thought on “Old News: 12/12/12 Edition”

Leave a Reply

