Friday Night Live with Josh and Alison

Tonight I’ll be heading into San Francisco for my first real concert in over a year: Joshua Radin & A Fine Frenzy at the Warfield Theatre. I’m not entirely sure what to expect, but I’m excited!

I saw Josh at Toad’s Place in New Haven, Connecticut just over three years ago along with Gary Jules and Amber Rubarth.  It was a relatively small show, probably the perfect size for his style of music. In fact, it was small enough for me and Josh to have a chat in the middle of the whole thing (about my awesome Elliott Smith shirt) and meet up with him outside afterward for pictures and such.  He seemed like a genuinely nice dude and I’d love to run into him again tonight.  Who knows if that will be possible since the Warfield is a much larger venue and San Francisco isn’t quite like Yale but we’ll see.  Plus, he’s joined this time with co-main act A Fine Frenzy who I’m actually more excited to see since I’ve already seen Josh before, but it’s been a few years and he’s got a ton of new material so it should be a good time regardless.

Joshua Radin – The Greenest Grass

A Fine Frenzy is the creative vehicle of Alison Sudol, an adorable (see below) indie singer-songwriter who was recommended to me about a year ago because of my interest in such artists as Sara Bareilles and Ingrid Michaelson.  I’ve been listening the heck out of her albums over the last week to get myself ready for the show.  I can’t say I’m a huge fan, but she’s a fantastic lyricist and I definitely enjoy most of her material.  From what I’ve watched on YouTube, she might even be better live than in the studio. Besides, if my history with concerts is any indication, I’ll probably be obsessed with her (and Josh, once again) after seeing her live.  We’ll see tonight!  😀

A Fine Frenzy – Electric Twist

Leave a Reply

