Late Night Creativity 101 (Now With Portals!)

Last night around 10pm I couldn’t sleep so I decided to channel that transient insomnia into something creative.  Inspired by flipping through the music on my phone, I decided to take the following sound clip from Portal 2 and manipulate it into something even more awesome.  Take a look:


Now, I’m a huge fan of “Community” on NBC, and if you’ve never seen it, go watch it now.  If you’re also a huge fan, you can probably see where I’m going with this.

The smooth jazz piece “Daybreak,” heard throughout the second half of the third season, is clearly a perfect fit here.  It took me about twenty minutes to do; most of that time was spent playing around with effects in Audition.  I’m probably not the first person ever to have this idea, but I’m proud of myself for coming up with and executing it on my own.

Leave a Reply

